Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Swimmers Win Finis Collegiate Invitational

Cal Poly Swimmers Win Finis Collegiate Invitational

SOUTH GATE, California -- The 2011 Finis Collegiate Invitational ended Monday with Cal Poly the winners.  The women finished in first place with 2760 points.  The men also finished in first place with 2317.5 points.

Senior Lacey Buck won the women's 1650 yard freestyle with a time of 16:46.62.  She was followed by sophomore Taylor Riley (17:21.83), junior Taylor Spivey (17:46.96) and freshman Brooke Collins came in fourth.

The Cal Poly men also found success in the 1650 yard freestyle.  Sophomore Adrian Brynnel won the race with a time of 15:56.31.  He was followed in by sophomore Konrad Antoniuk (16:22.38) and freshman Carter Price (16:26.01) came in third.  Also placing in the race were freshman Cameron Johnson (16:54.57) in fifth place, junior Eddie Huang (16:58.93) came in sixth place.

In the 200 yard backstroke, senior Gloria Benefield (pictured at right) had the win with a time of 1:58.96 setting a school record and an NCAA "B" cut.  Junior Katrina Anderson (2:03.69) came in second and sophomore Amanda Maffris (2:05.95) took third.  Freshman Padon Sivesind (2:15.34) finished in seventh.

On the men's side, sophomore Joseph Wasko (1:57.76) took first place. Freshman Henrik Ohrstrom (1:58.71) came in second, followed by freshman Kyle Lindsay (1:59.99) in third and freshman Jonathon Lantz (2:03.62) finished fourth.

Sophomore Andrea Voight had the win (52.22) in the women's 100 yard freestyle. Sophomore Rachel Cleak (52.36) came in second, sophomore Jill Jones (52.54) finished third and senior Amy Morales 53.05 came in fourth.  Also placing in the finals were sophomore Kelsey Engel (53.18) in sixth, junior Chrissy Thomas (53.45) in seventh and sophomore Danielle Wong (53.87) took eighth.

In the men's 100 yard freestyle, freshman Christian Renfo (47.85) finished first. Junior Omar Dwidar (48.12) came in second.  Sophomore Matt Jude (48.21) finished fourth, followed by sophomore Drew Casier (48.33) in fifth and junior Eddie Huang (49.61) came in sixth.

Junior Angie Haven (2:17.09) won first place in the women's 200 yard breaststroke.  Senior Kylie France (2:23.85) finished in second place.  The Cal Poly men also had a first and second place finish in the 200 yard breaststroke. Freshman Jimmy Deiparine (2:08.01) won, followed by freshman Tyler Pickett (2:15.28) in second.

The women's 200 yard butterfly was won by freshman Belen Enguidanos (2:01.77).  Sophomore Rachel Cleak (2:08.35) finished second, sophomore Amanda Maffris (2:08.72) came in third and senior Lacey Buck (2:10.87) got fourth in the race.

Freshman Henrik Ohrstrom won the men's 200 yard butterfly with his time of 1:57.96.  Freshman Carter Price got second (1:59.21) and sophomore Drew Casier (2:05.00) finished in fourth place.

The women finished first and second place in the 400 yard freestyle relay.  On the men's side, the two teams also came in first and second place in the 400 yard freestyle relay.


Cal Poly is back in action on December 17, 2011 at San Diego State.