Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mustang Men and Women Win Dual Meets Against Pacific

Mustang Men and Women Win Dual Meets Against Pacific


SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – The Cal Poly men's and women's swimming and diving teams came out on top with a big win against University of the Pacific on Friday at trhe Anderson Aquatic Center. After 32 events, the women's team won with 177 points, versus Pacific's 85 points. Men's swimming claimed 163 points over Pacific's 99.

 In the women's 200-yard medley relay, Mustangs Allison de Peralta, Vanessa Pollitt, Rachel O'Brien and Jill Jones finished in first place (1:45.96). The men's team also finished first in the 200-yard medley relay with Jeff Allison, Mackey Hopen, Mickey Mackle and Aaron McKinnon (1:35.21).

Freshman Nicole Antoniuk won the 1,000-yard freestyle (10:30.93) followed by sophomore Brooke Collins in second place (10:48.61).

Allison de Peralta placed first in the 100-yard backstroke (58.13) with senior Katrina Anderson coming in a close second (59.30). Anderson also came in first place during the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 2:06.21.

Senior Angie Haven won the 100-yard breaststroke (1.05.12) as well as the 200-yard breaststroke (2:19.75).

Rachel O'Brien claimed first in the 200-yard butterfly (2:03.35) followed by sophomore Belen Enguidanos in second (2:04.81). O'Brien also won the 100 yard butterfly (56.09).

In the women's 50-yard freestyle, junior Rachel Cleak won first place (24.17).

Jill Jones won the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 52.11, and earned second place in the 50-yard freestyle (24.30).

Lastly for the women's team, Mustangs Alisha Bender, Rachel Cleak, Kelsey Engel, and Andrea Voigt placed first for a combined time of 3:30.89.

On the men's side, freshman Sonny Fierro came in first during the 1000-yard freestyle (9.38.76) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:45.03).

Junior Adrian Brynnel earned first in the 200-yard freestyle (1:42.30) and the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:39.72).

Sophomore Mackey Hopen won the 100-yard breastroke (58.00), the 200-yard butterfly (1:52.94), and the 100-yard freestyle (47.67).

Other Mustang winners include senior Aaron McKinnon in the 50-yard freestyle (21.58), sophomore Jimmy Deiparine in the 200-yard breaststroke, and freshman Mickey Mackle in the 200-yard IM (1:53.64).

Cal Poly is back in action Saturday at 11:30 a.m. at UC Santa Cruz.