Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fierro Finishes Second in 1,650 Free; Three Cal Poly Records Broken

Fierro Finishes Second in 1,650 Free; Three Cal Poly Records Broken


FEDERAL WAY, Wash. — Cal Poly sophomore Sonny Fierro smashed two Cal Poly records, and junior Jimmy Deiparine claimed another on the final day of competition at the Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championships on Saturday at Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center.

Fierro (pictured at right) captured second place in the 1,650-yard freestyle with a personal-best time of 15 minutes, 0.97 seconds, lowering by more than five seconds the school record he had set earlier this season.

Along the way, Fierro also snapped the 1,000 free mark (9:03.87). Matt Waggoner held the old mark of 9:08.74, set in 2010.

Sophomore Ian Sinclair placed 14th in the event at 15:24.70, under the B standard for qualification to the NCAA Championships, while Austin Cunniff was 19th in 15:42.05 and Dustin Bolt 20th in 15:44.75.

Meanwhile, Deiparine was second in the C Final of the 200 breaststroke (and 18th overall) with a school-record time of 1:59.48.

The record had actually already been rewritten earlier in the day, as junior Paolo Stanchi's prelims time of 1:59.60 was the first to surpass the old record of 2:00.27 (set by Ben Palmer 10 years ago).

Palmer's time had easily been the longest-standing school record still on the books among all events.

Stanchi ultimately finished slightly behind Deiparine in the finals, at 1:59.58, for 19th place.

Sophomore Mickey Mackle also had a solid performance in the C Final, at 2:03.11.

Stanchi also qualified for the C Final in the 200 backstroke with a season-best time of 1:49.12, but dropped out of that event to concentrate on the 200 breast.

Sophomore Jeff Allison was 23rd overall in the 200 back with a time of 1:52.37 while fellow sophomore Johnny Dodero was 24th at 1:53.48.

Cal Poly finished eighth in the team standings with 157 points, just 21.5 behind UC Santa Barbara. Cal claimed the team title with 786 points, followed by Stanford at 661.

The NCAA Championships will be held from March 27-29 in Austin, Texas.

Photo by Chuckarelei Studio