Mustangs Swept by Texas-Arlington in Shortened Match

Mustangs Swept by Texas-Arlington in Shortened Match

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – Senior Kathryn Webb (right) and junior Mika Padmanabhan prevailed at the No. 2 doubles position, but the duo finished as the only Mustangs to post a victory against Texas-Arlington on Saturday afternoon as the Cal Poly women's tennis program dropped a 4-0 decision to the Mavericks on Mustang Courts.

In doubles action, Webb and Padmanabhan delivered an 8-3 triumph against Texas-Arlington's Angeles de los Rios and Elizabeth Thomas. At No. 1, however, Mustang seniors Jennifer Cornea and Ane McPike dropped an 8-5 match at the No. 1 spot versus Astrid Gehre and Ekaterina Tugarinova. Texas-Arlington grabbed the doubles points at No. 3 with Jessica Birowski and Giada D'ortona besting Mustang freshmen Emily Gibbens and Sayaka Tsugai, 8-2.

In singles play, Gibbens fell at No. 2 to D'ortona (6-2, 6-2), Padmanabhan was edged at No. 3 by de los Rios (7-5, 4-6, 6-0) while Texas-Arlington wrapped up the shortened victory at No. 6 as Tsugai fell to Tugarinova (6-2, 2-6, 6-4). With the contest in hand, Cornea's match at No. 1 with Thomas remained unfinished with the Mustang senior trailing, 3-6, 6-2, 3-5. Other matches that remained unfinished were Webb's contest at No. 4 versus Gehre (6-2, 1-6, 2-3) and McPike's at No. 5 against Verena Scott (6-7, 4-4).

Cal Poly (3-7) continues a seven-match home stand when welcoming Hawai'i on Wednesday, March 26 at 12 noon.

Texas-Arlington 4, Cal Poly 0
Mustang Courts (San Luis Obispo, Calif.)
March 15, 2014

1. Jennifer Cornea (CP) vs. Elizabeth Thoms (UTA), 3-6, 6-2, 3-5, unfinished
2. Giada D'ortona (UTA) def. Emily Gibbens (CP), 6-2, 6-2
3. Angeles de los Rios (UTA) def. Mika Padmanabhan (CP), 7-5, 4-6, 6-0
4. Kathryn Webb (CP) vs. Astrid Gehre (UTA), 6-2, 1-6, 2-3, unfinished
5. Ane McPike (CP) vs. Verena Scott (UTA), 6-7, 4-4, unfinished
6. Ekaterina Tugarinova (UTA) def. Sayaka Tsugai (CP), 6-2, 2-6, 6-4

1. Astrid Gehre/Ekaterina Tugarinova (UTA) def. Jennifer Cornea/Ane McPike (CP), 8-5
2. Kathryn Webb/Mika Padmanabhan (CP) def. Angeles de los Rios/Elizabeth Thoms (UTA), 8-3
3. Jessica Birowski/Giada D'ortona (UTA) def. Emily Gibbens/Sayaka Tsugai (CP), 8-2